About Hastings Philharmonic Choir

Photograph: Peter Mould

In just under a decade with its current musical director, the enterprising and energetic Marcio da Silva, Hastings Philharmonic Choir has established itself as one of the foremost choirs in the area, thrilling audiences and critics alike with performances to rival those of many professional ensembles.  You can see some details and reviews of our previous concerts by clicking here.

Revolving around the major choral works of the baroque to romantic periods, the choir’s wide-ranging repertoire extends also to classics of the twentieth century. Concerts in recent years have included works by Handel, Mozart, Beethoven, Rossini, Brahms, Verdi, Orff, Britten and Lauridsen. The choir has also performed new commissions, most recently Philip O’Meara’s evocative No Man in 2016 (click here to see and hear us performing this).

We perform four concerts a year in various venues in Hastings and St Leonards. Our popular Carols for All each December is a family affair involving local schoolchildren alongside our Choir.

With a membership of around eighty singers, the Choir offers a warm welcome to new members as we continue to develop. We rehearse weekly and encourage home study between meetings.  Sadly, due to the current coronavirus pandemic, active recruitment has been suspended, and whilst rehearsals have started again these are conducted with the strictest protocols in place for the safety of our members.


Sopranos Altos Tenors
Alison Norris Alison Horan Andrew Jeremiah
Annie Sutton-Scales Alison Levinson Chris Cormack
Annika Jasse Annette Humphreys Edward Bryant
Carole Maurice Barbara Cornish John Spencer
Catriona Lamont Birgit Green Robert Holland
Deirdre Goodger Carol Scoines Rupert Agutter
Frances Day Caroline Gibbins Simon Scott
Geraldine I'Anson Caryl Hosein Simon Stonard
Helen Palen Elspeth Knights Soo Chee Kin
Hilary Baker Fiona MacGregor
Jane Pentecost-Wild Gill Paul Basses
Jill Lockhart Heather Spence David Holloway
Joan Downing Janet Horner David Stokes
Jude Cowan Montague Janice Edwards Hugh Bryant
Judy Appleyard Judith Bevan John Jenkins
Kate Dyer Kate Man John Read
Lin Westcott Kerry Gentleman John Rycroft
Mary Lipscombe Lucy Cradduck Keith Paul
Maxine Wright-Moore Maggi Hyde Malachi Hill
Megan Skinner Maria Atkinson Ray Lockhart
Mo Cannon Mary Hughes Richard Overton
Rose Dearden Nicola Urling-Clark Stuart Robinson
Rose Miller Penny Hamp
Rosemarie Roberts Rachel Farnham
Sarah Lee Sue Adams
Sarah Taylor Sue Watson
Saskia Hart Thïa Igbokwe
Sue Beaney Virginia Cole
Sue Kidd
Susan Wood
Tessa Sambrook

Brought to you by Making Music
Copyright © 2021 Hastings Philharmonic Choir