About Hastings Philharmonic Choir

Photograph: Peter Mould

President: The Worshipful the Mayor of Hastings, James Bacon
Vice-presidents: Judy Appleyard, Pam Brown, Shirley Carey, Bryan Skinner

In just under a decade with its current musical director, the enterprising and energetic Marcio da Silva, Hastings Philharmonic Choir has established itself as one of the foremost choirs in the area, thrilling audiences and critics alike with performances to rival those of many professional ensembles.  You can see some details and reviews of our previous concerts by clicking here.

Revolving around the major choral works of the baroque to romantic periods, the choir’s wide-ranging repertoire extends also to classics of the twentieth century. Concerts in recent years have included works by Handel, Mozart, Beethoven, Rossini, Brahms, Verdi, Orff, Britten and Lauridsen. The choir has also performed new commissions, most recently Philip O’Meara’s evocative No Man in 2016 (click here to see and hear us performing this).

We perform four concerts a year in various venues in Hastings and St Leonards. Our popular Carols for All each December is a family affair involving local schoolchildren alongside our Choir.

With a membership of around eighty singers, the Choir offers a warm welcome to new members as we continue to develop. We rehearse weekly and encourage home study between rehearsals.  


Sopranos Altos Tenors
Alison Norris Alison Horan Andrew Jeremiah
Annie Sutton-Scales Alison Levinson Chris Cormack
Carole Maurice Annette Humphreys Edward Bryant
Catriona Lamont Barbara Cornish John Spencer
Claire-Marie Mewett Carol Scoines Jonathan Todd
Fiona MacGregor Caryl Hosein Robert Holland
Frances Day Deirdre Goodger Rupert Agutter
Geraldine I'Anson Elspeth Knights Simon Scott
Helen Palen Heather Spence Simon Stonard
Hilary Baker Janet Horner
Joan Downing Janice Edwards Basses
Jude Cowan-Montague Judith Bevan Alex Csernak
Judy Appleyard Kate Man Alexander McMillan
Julie Todd Kerry Gentleman Ben Bruges
Laure Mamblona Lindsey Oakman David Holloway
Lin Westcott Liza Waller Gareth Simpson
Mary Hooper Lucy Cradduck Hugh Bryant
Mary Lipscombe Maggi Hyde John Jenkins
Maxine Wright-Moore Maria Atkinson John Read
Megan Skinner Mary Hughes John Rycroft
Mo Cannon Nicola Urling-Clark Malachy Hill
Rose Dearden Paula McDiarmid Mike Rollings
Rose Miller Penny Hamp Richard Overton
Rosemarie Roberts Rachel Farnham Stuart Robinson
Rosie Coyne Sue Adams Tillmann Lenz
Sarah Taylor Sue Green Tom Bruges
Starlight Freudenberg Sue Watson
Sue Kidd Tamsin Edwards
Susan Wood Thïa Igbokwe
Tessa Sambrook Virginia Cole
Wendy Swain
Brought to you by Making Music
Copyright © 2022 Hastings Philharmonic Choir